48th Josephian Peterite Limited Over Encounter Powered by Dialog

August 3, 2022         Colombo


48th Josephian Peterite Limited Over Encounter Powered by Dialog

Action from last years encounter

Sri Lanka’s longest running school’s annual one day cricket encounter played between St. Joseph’s College and St. Peter’s College for the Fr. Peter A. Pillai Memorial Trophy will go LIVE on 6th of August 2022 from 9.30am onwards at the SSC Ground, Colombo.

The Saint’s annual 50 overs encounter was first played on March 16, 1975 at Darley Road, Colombo. From its inception the limited overs match with its carnival atmosphere has become one of the most followed games in the annual Sri Lanka school’s cricket calendar.

This year the two captains, Shevon Daniel of St Josephs and Wanuja Kumara of St Peters, are both talented All Rounders who represented Sri Lanka at the Under 19 Asia Cup in the UAE and World Cup in the Caribbean in 2022. They, are scheduled to leave on the Under 19 England Tour soon after this match.

Due to the present situation of the country and rising Covid numbers, the two schools have decided to play without spectators but for their large Sri Lankan and overseas following the match will be shown LIVE on Dialog Television channel number 140, and via live stream on the and the Dialog ViU app.

In last year’s match the boys from Darley Road outplayed the lads from Bambalapitiya, but this year at the recently concluded Big Match, the Battle of the Saint’s, the Peterite’s turned the tables on a more fancied Josephian team so a great day of cricket is on the cards. The Joes have consecutively won the last 3 Limited Over battles and lead the series 24-20 with two matches ending in no result.

Dialog Axiata is the proud sponsor of the Sri Lanka National Cricket, Volleyball, Netball and Esports teams. The Company also has a close association with the President’s Gold Cup Volleyball, National Junior and Senior Netball tourneys, Schools Rugby, Paralympic sports by powering the Army Para Games, National Para Games and the Sri Lankan contingent to the World Paralympic Games.