‘72nd Battle of the Golds - Panadura Moratuwa’ Powered by Dialog

March 21st, 2024         Colombo


Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya Receives GSMA Chairman's Award

Photographed from L-R: Mahith Appuhami - Captain, Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Thilina Peiris - Assistant Treasurer, Old Moratu Maha Vidyalian’s Sports Club, Ruwan Arambepola - Principal, Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Pubudu Aluthgedara - Senior General Manager/ Head of Business, Dialog Television , Dialog Axiata PLC, Lasantha Theverapperuma – Group Chief Marketing Officer, Dialog Axiata PLC, Raweendra Pushpakumara - Principal, Sri Sumangala College, Panadura, Chamara Peiris - Secretary, Sri Sumangala College Past Cricketers' Association, Vidusha Peiris - Captain, Sri Sumangala College, Panadur

In its steadfast dedication to nurturing future sporting stars and powering the champions of tomorrow, Dialog Axiata PLC, Sri Lanka’s premier connectivity provider, proudly announces its corporate sponsorship for the 72nd edition of the 'Battle of the Golds - Panadura Moratuwa' cricket encounter between Sri Sumangala College, Panadura, and Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Moratuwa, scheduled to take place on March 29th and 30th at De Soysa International Cricket Stadium, Moratuwa. Following this, the 31st limited-over cricket match will be held on March 31st at the same venue.

As the primary sponsor, Dialog Axiata has made provisions to broadcast the Big Match and the Limited Overs match LIVE on Dialog Television - ThePapare TV HD (Channel Number 127), as well as a livestream on and the Dialog ViU App.

Lasantha Theverapperuma, Group Chief Marketing Officer at Dialog Axiata PLC, expressed the company's enthusiasm, stating, "The Big Match Season is a cornerstone of Sri Lanka's sporting heritage, and we are thrilled to continue our support for this significant cricketing spectacle, which fosters future champions destined to represent our nation. I extend my heartfelt wishes to both Sri Sumangala College and Moratu Maha Vidyalaya for a thrilling cricket match."

Vidusha Peiris will lead the team from Panadura, while Mahith Appuhami will captain the Moratuwa team. Currently, Sri Sumangala College leads with 8 wins to Moratu Maha Vidyalaya's 7, with 56 matches ending in draws. The 71st battle concluded in a draw due to persistent rain. Moratu Maha Vidyalaya scored 144 runs in 55.3 overs batting first, and Sri Sumangala College was 86 for 3 in reply when rain intervened.

In limited-over encounters, Sumangalians leads with 15 wins to Moralaniyans 12 out of the 30 matches played. Two matches ended with no decisions, and one match was not played. Moratu Maha Vidyala holds the unique record of becoming the one and only school in Sri Lanka which has produced national cricketers both in men's and women's categories.Both schools have produced notable cricketers to Sri Lanka's national team. Sarath Fernando, Bernard Perera, Ajantha Mendis and Nishan Madushka hail from Moratu Maha Vidyalaya , , while Tissa Eleperuma, Don Anurasiri, Indika Gallage, and Dilruwan Perera are proud products of Sri Sumangala.

Former Sri Lankan Player, Hasantha Fernando started his school cricket at Moratu Maha Vidyalaya. Inoshi Fernando and Upeksha Thabrew represented the nation in women's cricket who are old girls of Moratu Maha Vidyalaya. College and Sri Lanka U19 National Player Vishwa Lahiru is also a Sumangalian. Also, Kaushal Silva, Kithruwan Withanage and Oshada Fernando started their school cricket from Sri Sumangala College. Another notable Sumangalian is the Sri Lanka Cricket Vice President Ravin Wickramaratne, who still holds the Big Match Record of scoring a century (104 not out) and 5 for 26 with a hat-trick in 1981.

Dialog Axiata is the proud sponsor of the National Cricket, Volleyball, Netball and Esports teams. Dialog is also the primary sponsor of the Sri Lanka Golf Open and Paralympic sports by powering the National Para Games, and the Sri Lankan contingent to the World Paralympic Games. Further, in line with its commitment towards empowering the champions of tomorrow, the company continues to power the President’s Gold Cup Volleyball, National Junior and Senior Netball tourneys, and School Rugby.